top of page
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.

My Missions Trip Experience

I recently got back from my 4th missions trip to Tijuana, Mexico. It was a different trip from all the other missions trips I have been on, because I did not go with my parents. When I was little, I had a bit of seperations anxiety from my mom. I would cry every single day that she dropped me off at school, until I was 9. This trip really encouraged me to be a strong girl and to really lean on God to comfort me, when my mom couldn't be there.

Our team was very small , with only 7 members. I was very fortunate to have my bestfriend come on the trip with me. The experience of seeing all the poverty in Tijuana really is a humbling experience. Every time we would walk into somebody's house to hand them a food hamper, I was in awe of how happy they were, despite the wealth they lacked. There was definatly some humbling times, like when a little girl gave me the most heartfelt card. And there was also some experiences that really tested my patience, and my understanding. We were blessed with wonderful weather the entire time, as well as easy beach access to the ocean. We spent 5 days working at a day care center for single moms to drop off their kids while they went to work. The daycare has helped many families, because otherwise, the moms would have to lock their kids in the trailers, and there were several cases where the kids were kidnapped, or the trailer caught on fire, and the kids were trapped.

If you have never been on a missions trip, I would HIGHLY reccomend it! It's a life changing experience, and you come back feeling so blessed and grateful for everything you have <3

Sincerely,

Sophia xx

Click here to learn more about the day care that I volenteered at.

Decorating aprons with the kids!

Michele <3

we purchased 10 scooters for the kids to play with! So fun to watch them!!!

The kids went wild decorating our hands. Haha! such good memories!

Precious Xemana. I miss her so much!


bottom of page