top of page
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.

Starbucks Copycat: Chai Tea Latte

My chai obsession has increased significantly over the past few months. I remember trying a chai tea latte at my Nana's house about 2 years ago, and I hated it so much, I promised myself I would never drink it again. But something this past month totally switched in my brain when a friend brought a Chai tea latte to school, I coldn't believe what I ha b een missing. Now, there isn't a day that goes by without having a chai tea!

Something about the creaminess of the milk, mixed with a tangy sweet syrup blew my mind. But, unfortunately, spending $5 a day on a Chai Tea Latte from Starbucks adds up really fast. I was really excited when I stumbled across this super yummy recipe that tastes like the exact same thing! If you make the recipe, tag us in it (@Sincerelybff on instagram) We would love to see it!!

Sincerely,

Rebecca xx

p.s. We would love to collaborate with you! Please contact us at sincerelybff@gmail.com for business inquiries

Inspiration from http://livesimply.me/2014/10/06/homemade-chai-tea-latte/

Chai Tea:

  • 2 cups water

  • 2 tea bags of regular chai tea

  • 2 whole cloves

  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon

  • ½ tsp ground ginger

  • ½ tsp ground nutmeg

  • â…› tsp ground allspice

  • 2 TB pure maple syrup (where to buy)

Latte:

  • ½ cup chai tea (recipe above)

  • ¾ cup whole milk

  • 1 TB pure maple syrup

  • pinch of ground cinnamon

Instructions

  1. For the chai tea: In a medium-sized saucepan, bring the water and spices to a boil. Whisk the spices in the water. Once the water reaches a boil, turn off the heat and allow the spices to steep in the water for 5 minutes. After 5 minutes, turn the heat back on and add the black tea bag and maple syrup. Return to a slight boil (the goal is a hot liquid for steeping). Once boiling, turn off the heat. Allow the tea bags to steep in the water and spices for 5 minutes. Remove the tea bags and strain the tea through a fine mesh sieve (like this). Reserve ½ cup of chai tea for the latte. Store the rest of the chai tea in the fridge up to two weeks for freshness.

  2. For the latte: In a medium-size saucepan, bring the milk, maple syrup, and pinch of cinnamon to a slight boil (the sides of the milk will begin to bubble), stirring often. Once the sides of the milk begin to bubble, remove the pan from heat. Using an immersion blender (this is the trick to a frothy homemade latte), blend the milk until it's frothy.

  3. Pour ½ cup of chai tea in a mug. Slowly add the warm, frothy milk to the tea. Sprinkle the top of the chai latte with an extra pinch of cinnamon, if desired.

  4. Serve warm.


bottom of page